DIY : Wall Décor – Part I

This past week, I’ve been quite busy in the DIY sector. With a newly painted room, comes bare walls and thus many walls décor ideas. So to start my three part DIY wall décor series, here’s my first DIY for you guys!

DIY #1 : Photo garland 

If you’re like me and take thousands of photos wherever you go, but cannot find a way to display them without creating millions of holes in your wall, you’re in luck! With some online inspiration from Pinterest and Tumblr, I figured out a way to make a DIY photo garland! You can easily display your photos with minimal damage to your wall and for cheap. Easy & cheap, a perfect combination of words! 

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Printed photos (I got mine printed at Costco for $6)
  • Push pins
  • String, hemp twine, yarn (Basically any string-like material that you can hang photos on, I used embroidery floss because it’s all I could find in my house.)
  • Mini clothespins (I got mine at Michael’s for ~$4/per pack & I chose mini clothespins as opposed to the regular size because I didn’t want to worry about photos flipping or the string not being able to support the weight and I preferred the look.)
  • A bare wall (duuhhhh)

Instructions:

  1. Select the photos you want to print and go to any store that will print them (some places that do them for a reasonable price are: Costco or Wal-Mart).
  2. Once your photos are printed, select a nice spot on your wall where you’d like to hang them. I recommend somewhere that’s about 1.5 meters in length.
  3. Cut your string to the desired wall length and use your push pins to pin the two ends of the string onto your wall (see photos down below for reference). 
  4. Create a pattern/design for your photos and use the clothespins to attach them to the string. 

 

Voila, 4 easy steps and your old, bare wall is now full of your personality and a sight to look at! Here are some photos of my wall, I chose to do two garland on top of each other. Also, some parts are blurred out because of privacy reasons. 🙂 

 

I hope you enjoyed this super simple DIY, feel free to comment down below if you have any questions!

By: Purple Pansy

Leave a Reply

