Hello sun :) + Hello sunburns :(

Right now I’m on vacation for two months at a very hot country (FYI: TURKEY). I always put sunscreen and especially on my face but I somehow get these nasty sunburns under my eyes. My skin swells up, gets red and it’s really painful. I found some very good tips and I decided to share them with you. So, here are a few tips and tricks to get rid of those horrible sunburns.

1. Soak your skin. Use a towel or washcloth and wet it with cold water but don’t use ice-cold water! Put the wet towel/washcloth onto your sunburned skin for about 10-15 minutes. The cold reduces the swelling of your skin and takes the heat away as well.

2. Take a bath. If your whole body is burned, take a dip  in a cool bath and don’t forget to add some oatmeal in it! You can buy an oatmeal cream (ex: Aveeno) or grind  a cup of oatmeal in a food processor and then add it to your bath.

3. Soak your skin. Again?!? Yes, soak your skin again using the same technique as tip #1 however this time use green tea or herbal tea. Tea contains ingredients that help protect your skin from the sun and it reduces inflammation.

5. Use veggies. For extra-painful sunburns, rub the burn with a sliced cucumber or potato. They contain ingredients that cool the burn and help reduce swelling and they make a good snack too!

6. Use vinegar. I was very surprised to learn that vinegar can ease sunburn pain, itching, and inflammation. All you have to do is soak a few sheets of paper towels or cotton balls in white vinegar and apply them to the burned areas. Leave them on until they’re dry. Repeat as needed.

7. Take a  bath. Again !?! If your sunburn itches, take a cool bath but add two cups of vinegar to the water before you get in.

8. Coat yourself with olive oil. No just kidding, don’t use olive oil instead mix baking soda and vinegar to form a thick paste and put it on the sunburned areas. Apply the paste before bedtime and leave it on overnight.

9. Give your bed sheets a nice sprinkle with… sprinkles.  Again, just kidding don’t use sprinkles, use cornstarch  to minimize painful chafing. (Use this tip only for bad sunburns, since you’ll have to wash your sheets very well afterward.)

10. Use aloe vera. Apply a light coat of 100% pure and/or organic aloe vera to your sunburned skin ; using a fresh piece from the actual plant or the gel that you can buy at the drugstore. If you buy the gel, make sure it’s 100% pure aloe vera because you don’t want to use the fake, bad stuff on your skin.

And finally, of course, always apply sunscreen even if you have a darker skin tone! Also wear sunglasses and a hat! Stay indoors between 11:30 – 3:30 if possible because those are the sun’s strongest times in almost every country!

By: Purple Pansy

11 thoughts on “Hello sun :) + Hello sunburns :(

  1. Get well soon (Gecmis Olsun) dear Pansy..
    I hope your face is OK now.. Let me know if you need anything from Eczane..

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so considerably about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you can add some pics to drive the message home a bit, but rather of that, this really is an amazing weblog. I’ll surely be back.

  3. Hello terrific blog! Does running a blog such as this require a large amount of work?
    I have no expertise in coding but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic, however I simply needed to ask.
    Thanks!

    • Hi! Running a blog does not really require a large amount of work but it still does need a little bit of effort. I’ll post some tips and tricks for starting a new blog easily!

      ~ Purple Pansy

  4. Magnificent points altogether, you just received a brand new reader. What would you suggest about your publish that you made a few days ago?

    • Thanks so much! I do have a question for you though and please don’t get offended! What did you mean when you asked me what I would suggest about the publish that I made a few days ago? Sorry, I don’t really understand what you meant!
      ~ Purple Pansy

  5. Thanks , I have recently been looking for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered till now. But, what about the last tip? Are you positive concerning the supply?

    • Thanks! Yes, I’m positive that aloe vera gel helps soothe sunburns ; I use it all the time! I had sunburns under my eyes and I put a thin coat of the aloe vera gel on the sunburned area and the next day my skin wasn’t painful at all and the sunburn went away.
      ~ Purple Pansy

  6. I just like the helpful information you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check once more here regularly. I am somewhat certain I’ll learn lots of new,proper stuff right here! Best of luck for the following!

    • Hi!
      Thanks for bookmarking my blog and for your nice comment! I am also sure that you might learn new information because I know that I always do (while doing the research for my articles)!
      ~ Thanks so much : Purple Pansy

Leave a Reply

