MAKEOVER FOR A PLASTIC BAG ?!?

Hi!

A couple of months ago, I learned how to transform plastic bags into a new and useful material. I successfully did this by fusing the plastic bags with an iron and some other items. Fused plastic bags are a great material to have because they’re waterproof, easy to use, flexible and most importantly good for the environment!

Supplies:

– plastic bags (I really recommend that you choose plastic bags with bright colours  because the final result looks better than plain, dark fused bags.)

– scissors

– parchment paper

– iron

– towel or ironing board (I used a towel because I didn’t want to damage my ironing board and because it had a bigger work surface than my ironing board.)

Instructions:

  1. Cut the bottom seam of the plastic bag and the handles, then flatten it out.
  2. If you are using a towel, lay it out on your work surface (my work surface was my carpet). If you are using an ironing board take it out.
  3. If your plastic bag has words, shapes or similar designs printed on it, turn the bag inside out. This prevents the design’s inks from going on your iron, smudging or ruining the colour.
  4. Lay a sheet of parchment paper (as big as your plastic bag) on your work surface, then put your plastic bag on the paper. Put another sheet of parchment paper on top of the plastic bag, creating a sandwich.
  5. Turn your iron on and don’t forget to turn off the steam.
  6. Iron the plastic bag as you normally would iron a shirt but make sure to check on the bag to see if it’s not burning.  If you find bubbles you can pop them with a pin and iron over them. Always keep your iron moving, unless you want  your fused plastic to be burnt or you want a fire. 😉 Only run your iron on the parchment paper, or else the plastic bag will melt on your work surface or on your iron! 
  7. Turn your plastic bag over but keep it sandwiched between the parchment sheets and then repeat step 6.
  8. Set your fused plastic and allow it to cool down for approximately 2-3 minutes.
  9. Once the fused plastic cooled, carefully peel of both of the parchment sheets. If the plastic isn’t fused completely, sandwich it in between the parchment paper and iron it again.

Now you have a sheet of fused plastic that can be used to make many new crafts or decorations. Here are a few ideas: bookmarks, bracelets, gift wrapping paper, wallets, bags, wall decorations and many more!

Tips:
  1. If you iron the plastic a little longer, it will melt and form holes. This can create an interesting texture, but be careful not to burn it!
  2. If you want your fused plastic sheet to be thicker or more durable, you can fuse multiple bags together. All you have to do is stack more bags on top of the first one, sandwich all of the bags in between two parchment papers and iron! 
  3. You can use clear plastic bags to laminate paper. If you use a clear plastic bag be careful because it tends to melt faster. After fusing, the plastic will still be clear, however it will be matte.

Have fun making your fused plastic sheets but be careful. If you are under the age of 12, ask a parent or guardian for their permission and their help when ironing!

By: Purple Pansy

25 thoughts on “MAKEOVER FOR A PLASTIC BAG ?!?

  1. Wow, amazing blog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for? you made blogging glance easy. The entire glance of your website is wonderful, as smartly as the content!

  2. Pingback: Linda

  3. Pingback: Rachel

  4. Hello there, I simply located your weblog through Google, and found out that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for more posts. I’ll be grateful if you happen to continue this in future. A lot of other folks might be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  5. I simply want to mention I am just all new to blogging and honestly enjoyed this blog site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You surely have impressive articles and reviews. With thanks for revealing your blog site.

  6. Nice blog here! Also your site loads up very fast! What web host are you the use of? Can I get your associate link on your host? I want my website loaded up as fastas yours lol

    • Hi!
      Firstly, I use one of the WordPress Hosting servers but I am not sure which one it is. 😦
      Secondly, even if I knew which WordPress Hosting servers I was using, I think that if you don’t have a blog created with WordPress, you can’t use the WordPress Hosting servers… but I am completely not sure!

  7. I rarely comment, but i did a few searching and wound up here : MAKEOVER FOR A PLASTIC BAG on Ecofriendlyl’s Blog. And I do have a question for you if it’s allright. If you are writing at other online sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • Hi there,

      I am currently ONLY writing on Ecofriendlyl and I don’t have a Linkedin profile, a Facebook page or a Twitter feed. 🙂
      So basically if you wan’t to follow everything that I post, you could enrol yourself to my blog to get emails whenever I post something new!

      Hope this helped,
      Purple Pansy

  8. Hi-Ya. This is brilliantly helpful. I’ve been searching to unearth ways to engage with more people on this subject. Fortunate to be very a minor fragment of this site .. by commenting here! Thanks… again, for putting this together and for making all of our lives easier!

  9. I believe everything posted made a lot of sense. But, think about this, what if you wrote a catchier title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added a headline to maybe get people’s attention? I mean “MAKEOVER FOR A PLASTIC BAG ?!?” is a little plain. You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news headlines to get people to click. You might add a related video or a pic or two to get readers interested about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it might make your blog a little bit more interesting.

    • Hi!

      Thanks for your constructive criticism, it really helps me know what other readers are thinking and how to change the “problem”. I might add more photos in the future but for now I’ll keep my titles the same! 🙂
      ~ Purple Pansy

  10. That is very fascinating. You are an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward for more of your excellent posts. Also, I have shared your site in my social networking site, if that’s okay with you!

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for your comment, it really made my day! Also thanks for subscribing to my blog and I’m glad to hear that you’re looking forward to more posts. It’s fine that you shared my website…
      ~ Purple Pansy

Leave a Reply

